An Electric Night

On Saturday evening my Aunt Alice and her long time boyfriend, Roger, got married in southern Virginia.  To be honest, I was having a hard time getting excited about this one.  Not only was I going to a wedding without my wife (which is always super depressing), but my Aunt Alice and I have had a tumultuous relationship over the years. 

We never really got along when I was younger, not to mention she was the one that yelled at Jillian to play “The Electric Slide” at our wedding, a song that we had explicitly placed on our DO NOT PLAY list.  If you love this song, I am sorry if I’ve offended you (kinda).  If you don’t like this song you totally understand where I’m coming from (and are now one of my best friends).

So it goes without saying that I had reservations about the evening, but you know what William Shakespeare said: “Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it.”  Well it turns out that almost all my cousins were there, which never happens.  Some of them I hadn’t seen in years and years.  They also had a really cool string quartet that was great (even if they played the same three songs over and over again).

Voilining

Cool glasses

The party gathered, and Alice and Roger were married alongside the Potomac River. It truly was a beautiful ceremony.

Alice_Roger_Hug

For the rest of the evening I filled my roll as the guy that makes everyone asks “why is he taking so many pictures?”.  This allowed me to do two things that you typically can’t do in normal social situations: 1) not dance, and 2) abruptly leave conversations with family members you haven’t seen in years when they get awkward (as they all inevitably do).  “Sorry, I have to go take this picture really quickly. I’ll be right back!” Works every time.

Here you’ve got my Dad and Step-mother, flanked by my Aunts Maryanne and Cathrine.  Both Cathrine and I were pretty bummed we missed the Glenn Beck rally that was happening in DC at the same time as the wedding.  She would go as an avid supporter.  I would go as someone who would love to take pictures of crazy conservatives.

Dad,_Tammy,_Catherine,_Maryanne

My cousin Matt holding his brand new daughter Louissa is below.  In the late 90s Matt started working for this small start-up company in San Francisco that produced digital recording devices for television, a brand new concept at the time.  Haha, what a stupid idea!  Well, that company is called Tivo.  He clearly got the last laugh.

Matt and Louissa

And here you have Taylor, my cousin Tim and Lisa’s daughter.  I swear my cousins must get their children straight from J. Crew for Kids magazines.

Taylor Hough

You are even graced with a somewhat rare photo of your esteemed author with his father/roomie! Roommates 4eva!  As channel 9 would say, “This picture was taken by Tammy Thorp.”

Roomies!

The sun set and the real party started.  The dance floor became crowded, and I successfully avoided it.  This is partly because every time I dance Jillian reminds me that I am a one trick pony.  I move my hips from side to side and that’s it.  There is no deviation from that one move.  Personally, I’m not sure why there would have to be.  I have rhythm but lack style in a terrible way.

But 10pm rolled around, the party was about to wrap up, and guess what song had not been played?! That’s right: “The Electric Slide”!!!  I began to think how horribly ironic it would be if Alice had made such a big deal to have it played at our wedding, and it was not played at hers.  I thought about requesting it just to make sure it happened, but then thought I would take the high road.  WWJD?

But the wedding was saved by the DJ gods and “The Electric Slide” was played in full for the enjoyment of the bride and various guests who made the trip for this one, fleeting, “Electric Slide” moment.  It was magical, in fact, you could even say it was….I’ll let you fill in the blank.

Boogie woogie woogie!

It's Electric!

One response to “An Electric Night

  1. What a great picture of you and your Dad (if I do say so myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

