A Lesson in Unpreparedness

Every day I work to make my life harder than it has to be.  There are a wide range of actions that I take to make this happen.  For instance, little things such as being too lazy to hang up my clothes when I get home from work result in me having to iron them later.  Those kinds of things happen every day. 

Larger things, such as forgetting to tell the state of  Virginia that Jillian and I had moved to DC, happen occasionally and require a far greater amount of work to fix.  I also like to put off doing my expense reports to the last minute, and paying late charges on parking tickets.  We could go on for days.

Well, in a scene strangely reminicint of when I got the letter explaining that Jillian and I were not married, last week I got two letters.  One was from the City of Alexandria asking why I hadn’t paid taxes this year, the other came courtesy of the Virginia DMV asking why I had not renewed the registration on my car.  The sad part is that I would have probably recieved these letters even if I had never moved.

So I went to Alexandria City Hall and, strangely, all I had to do is show them my car registration and I was all set.  Everything was going eerily well.  I jumped into my car and headed for the DMV, a place where even the smallest of tasks can take hours.  I took my camera in anticipation of a long wait.

I don’t think I have ever taken a picture that captures the essence of a moment as much as this one.  The packed bays, the red numbers, and the annoyance on this guys face sums up every DMV experience I have ever had.  Way to go Frank!

But I waited for 45 minutes to speak with the DMV woman at the desk for 45 seconds, and again everything was fixed with a flash of my DC registration.  This was not a good lesson for me.  A situation where I was required to reinspect my car in Richmond before everything was fixed would have taught me to be a little more proactive.  Unfortunately, today I learned nothing, except that there are WAY too many choices for vanity plates.

I personally would go with “Horse Enthusiast”.

Leave a Reply

