Oktobeerfest

It’s the most wonderful time of the year.  The weather starts to cool down, the leaves start to turn, and Octoberfest beers are ripe for the taking.  For the third year in a row Rustico threw a festival called Oktobeerfest, bringing together food from four restaurants, music from a couple bands, and about 30 seasonal beers that are all delicious.

The guy pouring beer above is Rustico’s Manager Jon Bentley.  He’s a real stand-up guy.  I used to work at this restaurant and he was one of the best bosses I have ever worked under.  He’s always looking out for people, and if he can help you out, he will.

The only complaint I have about this festival is the way you pay.  They have implemented a ticket system for beers and food that always results in me wasting money by not using all my tickets.  You buy a ticket for a dollar, and beers are about 5-9 tickets each.  I’m sure it makes sense for them considering having that many people handle money would be a complete disaster, but I can still complain.

The funny part of all this is that because of a lack of foresight I did not eat anything before I decided to go and drink all kinds of super-alcoholic beers.  I had a pulled pork sandwich when I got there, but that did not match proportionately to the amount of beer I was consuming at all, so let’s say I got a little tipsy.

This was obvious when Christie, who is one of the owners of the restaurant and a close family-friend, saw me with my camera and asked if I could pass along the pictures I took so they could use them for marketing material.  This, along with the alcohol, gave me a new-found confidence.

“Excuse me!” I would say to groups of people, “I’m taking pictures for the festival to be used later by the management, can you all please get together.  Thank you!”  SNAP. “Great! Looks good, you all look great!” And then I would walk away towards my next victims.  Looking back, it was ridiculous.  I have no idea who these people are:

And the liquid courage continued to work wonders.  I looked around and mention to my friend, Lee, how cool it would be to get on the roof and take a picture of the whole crowd. “You can!” she yelled, and points out the ladder attached to the side of the building that leads to the roof.  So because everything seemed like a good idea at that time, we decide to make it happen.  She hoisted me over the protective covering that is in place to stop drunk people from getting on the roof, I climbed up, and everyone started to cheer.

If you click on the picture above it will show you a larger version where everyone is waving and raising their glasses.  I felt like U2.  If you look closely in this picture, on the bottom left corner in a blue jacket is my buddy Corey, for some reason he’s one of the only people not waving.  That’s SO Corey.

But in the end the festival was a huge success.  I stopped by Rustico later that night and they had burned through all 30+ kegs.  Evidence that it is, indeed, the best time of the year.

2 responses to “Oktobeerfest

  1. Nice pix! Especially like the high shot, and the tight shot of the tap…

  2. wow – looks like a great event! I am viewing on a mac so the pics are bright and brilliant….

Leave a Reply

