A Lesson in Taking Portraits

On Sunday I took pictures for the first time in exchange for something!  My mom owns a business called The Healing Tree which does Massage Therapy and Acupuncture, and their website was in serious need of some new photos of their practitioners.  In return, I would receive a 60 minute massage.  Hoorah!

I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

I was taking pictures of 9 women and one man, and what I have now learned is that taking a picture of a woman that they like is impossible.  I never took a picture that they were happy with.  Every time I would take a picture and show it to them they would give me a look like they were silently asking me, “are you serious?”

So it was a relief when Kate, who is one of the Massage Therapists, took it easy and made this face.  I don’t even think she asked to see her pictures, which was nice because all the other women made me feel like I had no idea what I was doing.  But when I went through the pictures later they came out pretty well.  And the saving grace was the picture of my Mom.  She looks like someone who I would want a massage from!

So this whole thing was a really good lesson on two levels.  Not only did I learn that taking portraits is tough (especially of women), but when someone is actually needing the final product in exchange for something it makes taking pictures SO MUCH HARDER!

One response to “A Lesson in Taking Portraits

  1. well, hopefully this will help…..it was actually a 90 min massage that you were doing the shoot for!! Also, Turkey Trot photo’s from last year – the beginning of this photo venture are on the visitdelray web site!!

Leave a Reply

