A Season Lost

My Dad and I went to the Redskins game last night, my first Monday Night Football game ever.  They lost to the Eagles, 27-17, in the most unspectacular fashion.  Dropping now to 2-5, the games are only going to get harder.  This season, Redskins games are a great way to turn a good day into a bad one. 

There really isn’t a definitive way to describe why the Redskins are so horrible this year.  The only thing you can say is their inability to produce is comprehensive.  The offense, the defense, the special teams, the coaches, the general manager, and the owner are all unable to effectively do their jobs.  Even Elmo was pissed.

We are still not sure what Elmo has to do with the Redskins, and he was not laughing when I tickled him on his way to grab some pizza (no joke).  But the worst part is that sports games are usually something you do to have fun and bond, but the look on people’s faces on the way out of Fedex Field is one of disappointment and hopelessness.

My in-laws bought my sister-in-law and I season tickets this year, so I will continue to go to the games and cheer for my team.  I have always been a Redskins fan, and I always will be.  I’ll never forget my Dad throwing me up in the air when the Redskins won the Super Bowl (twice) when I was young.  But it would be a lie for me to say that my faith in the team isn’t wavering.

P.S. Sorry for the depressing post.

2 responses to “A Season Lost

  1. The “frustrated” photograph is especially powerful. There seems to be a resignation coupled with frustration and disbelief on his face… And your tight focus on him, with everyone in the background out of focus, really makes him pop.
    Love the memory you shared of your Dad throwing you in the air too.
    TKT

  2. One day, HOPEFULLY, we’ll be throwing back into the air!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

