BACK!!! (This is Hard)

I could just post this picture without an explanation, and I think the message would be pretty clear.  It was hard to leave Haiti.

This picture was taken at the Hotel Montana, which is one of the nicest hotels in Port-au-Prince.  The reason we were there is because they have a pool and some decent food, but it turns out the best part is their view of the city.

The whole trip was wonderful, even if it wasn’t long enough.  We had such a good time together, and it took about negative 7 seconds to go back to the way that it used to be.  It was so nice to have a real conversation face-to-face, and being able to lean over and give her a kiss was heaven.

While the trip was my second visit to Haiti, it marked a lot of firsts.  Jillian taught me how to drive in the mean streets of Port-au-Prince, which is absolutely terrifying.  Hundreds of people spill out into the pot-hole-ridden roads while there is no semblance of traffic laws whatsoever.  I did pretty well except for when I drove a little too close to another car and hit his side mirror with mine.  Don’t worry, I just kept driving. It’s cool.

Another first was the fun fact that Haitians don’t get Dengue Fever, but guess who does? WHITE PEOPLE!!!  Also known as “Bonebreaker Disease”, Dengue Fever causes intense pain in your joints and muscles, and then ends with a bout of depression.  Did I mention that I got about 1,000 moquito bites during the trip?

But I left reluctantly, and I would be lying to say that the idea of not coming back didn’t flash in my head more than once.  One of those times was when Jillian was hugging me, and while crying she whispered, “Be with me”.  It was heartbreaking.

So I leave you with this picture of us in front of Port-au-Prince taken by our new friend Devon.  If you ignore my gut, this picture is perfect.

There are 48 days to go…and I’m counting.

3 responses to “BACK!!! (This is Hard)

  1. OK first of all, I just noticed that somehow you got wording on the practice golf balls that spell, “This is an emergency”, so bad on me if I’m the last one to see this, but otherwise, very well done on that bit! The view from the Hotel Montana seems alot like the view from the Mission House, is it close? Wonderful so see you together again! There is a charactor to your pics that is similar to some you took in SA, it’s as though you’ve put an “adventure” filter on your camera ’cause there’s always that flavor. There’s a reason you two are going to be there, not totally sure what it is yet, but I’ll bet your photos will document it! Nicely done.

  2. Your happiness oozes from these beautiful pictures. You guys are so great together; you’re a beautiful couple inside and out…. And yes, my eyes welled…

  3. Funny, going thru these again, I just noticed that this photo looks so much like the shots of you two on Table Mountain. The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Leave a Reply

