Song of the Week

Welcome to a NEW segment of “This is an Emergency” that will bring you a Song of the Week.  It might be a new song, or it may just be a song that I like at the time.  It’s a work in progress, but I think this could be a fun thing to do, so let’s roll with it.

Phoenix - Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

This week’s song is “1901” by Phoenix from the album “Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix”.  There are few songs that start off and right away make you want to run a marathon, and this is one of those songs.  Not to mention that they started using this song in Cadillac commercials, which effectively took away its secret appeal among music lovers.  But there is no doubt that this song rocks.

While Pheonix may not be the most complex band in the world, they have a way of taking a catchy riff and making it a really interesting song.  They also have a way of taking lyrics that make relatively no sense, and making them sound cool.  Here’s the chorus:

Oh It's 20 seconds til the last call
Going hey hey hey hey hey
By now, you know its easy
like we did it all summer long
And I'll be anything you ask and more
Going hey hey hey hey hey
It's not a miracle we needed
And no I wouldn't let you think so

I have no idea what any of that means, but the song makes you want to drive 100 mph on a residential road and then start it over again.  So enjoy the new segment in our show and I hope you like the music.  I’m aware that not everyone will, so if you have any suggestions please let me know.

Cheers,

Your Esteemed Author

2 responses to “Song of the Week

  1. Nancy and I were watching this video on Youtube the other day – how weird is that?

  2. Frank, I’ve been listening to the CD in my car since June. I know every song by heart.

Leave a Reply

