The Very Best – Yalira

I’m one of those people who gets goosebumps when they listen to good music.  Apparently this doesn’t happen to everyone, Jillian says it doesn’t happen to her.  But whether it’s a song that reminds me of a good time or just a really catchy chorus, there’s nothing like a song that makes you physically feel great.

This week’s Song of the Week is “Yalira” from the album “Warm Heart of Africa” by The Very Best.  The band includes a Malawian singer and two European DJs that collaborated after they met in a secondhand shop in London.

Lead-man Esau Mwamwaya sings most of the songs on this album in Chichewa, which is a native language of the Bantu tribes in Southern Africa.  And while many of the songs are not sung in English, the messages they seem to portray transcend the gap that’s left by not understanding the words.

I usually hate music in foreign languages.  Even when the song is great, if I don’t know what is being said I usually can’t really relate to it.  But for some reason, this song still gives me goosebumps even though the lyrics make no sense (to me at least).

“Yalira” gives me the feeling I imagine I would have waking up in the middle of Malawi and thinking I could do anything.  The song has a sense of hope engrained in it, and the simplicity of the drum-beat-background lets you focus on the harmony in Mwamwaya’s voice.

This song may not be for everyone, but at the moment it’s one of those tunes I find myself singing to myself when I walk down the street, even if I’m sure I look like a lunatic singing gibberish words that I just made up.

3 responses to “The Very Best – Yalira

  1. Agreed!!!

    Amazing song!!! =D

  2. I don’t understand chichewa either, but there are parts of the song that I get (e.g. London, New York, Paris, Lilongwe)……

  3. suchh a good song!!!
    i get goosebumps too when i listen to it

Leave a Reply

